Who We Are

Our member companies can now be found here.


The Bylaws

The Bylaws of the NZGA published in July 2018 may be downloaded here.

Who We Are

The New Zealand Geothermal Association (NZGA) is a scientific, educational and cultural organisation established to operate in New Zealand. It is a non-political, non-governmental, non-profit organisation. It has no political affiliation. The NZGA is an affiliated member of the International Geothermal Association (IGA) and of the Royal Society of New Zealand (RSNZ) and presently has 340 members.

Its objective is to encourage, facilitate and, when appropriate, promote coordination of activities related to New Zealand and worldwide research, development and application of geothermal resources. It aims to:

  • Encourage research, development and use of geothermal energy in New Zealand.
  • Advance and promote the establishment of criteria for the exploration and development of geothermal resources in a manner compatible with the natural environment.
  • Support enactment and adoption of uniform and appropriate legislation, rules and regulations for the development and utilisation of geothermal energy resources.
  • Serve as a public forum to provide objective and unbiased information on the nature of geothermal energy and its development.
  • Facilitate collection and dissemination of data related to geothermal resources and development.
  • Cooperate and communicate with national and international governmental, institutional and private agencies in matters relating to development and utilisation of geothermal resources.
  • Collect and disseminate information.

NZGA Board of Directors 2015/16

Stephen Daysh

Term expires 2020
Mitchell Daysh
Past President

Andy Bloomer
Term expired
Geothermal Engineering
Paul Siratovich

Term expires 2019
Boaz Habib

Term expires 2018
Heavy Engineering Research Ass.

Jane Brotheridge

Term expires 2018
Rosalind Archer

Term expires 2018
University of Auckland
 John Burnell

Term expires 2019
GNS Science
Abbie Dean

Term expires 2018
Contact Energy & WiNG
Kevin Koorey

Term expires 2020
MB Century
Katherine Luketina

Term expires 2019
Waikato Regional Council
Ted Montague

Term expires 2020
Contact Energy
Jeremy O'Brien

Term expires 2020
Andrew Rae

Term expires 2019
GNS Science
Bridget Robson

Term expires 2018
Brian White

Term expires 2020
East Harbour
Ian Richardson

Term expires 2020


Mike Allen – GeoNZ

Brian Carey – GeoHeat

Penny Doorman – Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Chris Mann – Mechanical Technology

Taparoto Nicholson – Te Puia/Waiariki Maori Geothermal Advisory Group

Kennie Tsui – Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment

Membership Benefits

  • Identification with a professional body with a geothermal focus.
  • Automatic membership of the International Geothermal Association.
  • Dissemination of geothermal information by:
    • Scientific and technical exchange.
    • Sponsoring public seminars.
    • Timely flow of published information through the quarterly IGA Newsletter.
    • The World Geothermal Congress held every 5 years; other scientific and technical meetings.
    • Point of contact for a wide spectrum of inquiries from scientists, engineers, governmental bodies, news media and the public.
  • Education and other services:
    • Discount to a range of IGA and local seminars including the New Zealand Geothermal Workshop.
    • Quarterly receipt of the IGA News providing timely general information on geothermal matters
    • Discount to the professional journal Geothermics, which publishes articles dealing with the theory, exploration and monitoring techniques and all aspects of utilisation of geothermal resources.