About NZGA

Our member companies can now be found here.

New Zealand Geothermal Association (NZGA)

The New Zealand Geothermal Association (NZGA) is a scientific, educational and cultural organisation established to operate in New Zealand. It is a non-political, non-governmental, non-profit organisation. It has no political affiliation. The NZGA is an affiliated member of the International Geothermal Association (IGA) and of the Royal Society of New Zealand (RSNZ) and presently has 340 members.

Its objective is to encourage, facilitate and, when appropriate, promote coordination of activities related to New Zealand and worldwide research, development and application of geothermal resources. It aims to:

  • Encourage research, development and use of geothermal energy in New Zealand.
  • Advance and promote the establishment of criteria for the exploration and development of geothermal resources in a manner compatible with the natural environment.
  • Support enactment and adoption of uniform and appropriate legislation, rules and regulations for the development and utilisation of geothermal energy resources.
  • Serve as a public forum to provide objective and unbiased information on the nature of geothermal energy and its development.
  • Facilitate collection and dissemination of data related to geothermal resources and development.
  • Cooperate and communicate with national and international governmental, institutional and private agencies in matters relating to development and utilisation of geothermal resources.
  • Collect and disseminate information.
NZGA 5 Year Vision:
The NZGA has developed a 5 Year Vision which it is taking steps to implement. Download the document here (PDF 36 KB).The Bylaws:
The Bylaws of the NZGA published in November 2013 may be downloaded here (PDF 102 KB).

NZGA Board of Directors 2015/16


Office Name Company Year Elected


Year term expires Year must retire
President Bridget Robson Eland 2015 2018 2021
Vice President Shanon Garden Mercury NZ 2014 2017 2020
Secretary Jane Brotheridge Jacobs 2015 2018 2018
Treasurer Kevin McLoughlin Tauhara North No 2 Trust 2015 2018 2018
Past President Brian Carey GNS Science 2012
Name Company Year Elected


Year term expires Year must retire
Board Members:
Rosalind Archer University of Auckland 2015 2018 2021
Andy Bloomer Geothermal Engineering 2014 2017 2017
John Burnell GNS Science 2013 2016 2019
Stephen Daysh Environmental Management Services 2014 2017 2020
Abbie Dean Contact Energy (WING) 2015 2018 2021
Mark Green Contact Energy 2013 2016 2019
Boaz Habib Heavy Engineering Research Association 2015 2018 2021
Kevin Koorey MB Century 2014 2017 2020
Katherine Luketina Waikato Regional Council 2013 2016 2019
Andrew Rae GNS Science 2013 2016 2019
Sadiq Zarrouk University of Auckland (IGA rep) 2014 2017 2017
Name Company
Mike Allen ReEx Capital Asia
Paul Bixley Contact Energy
Penny Doorman Bay of Plenty Regional Council
Chris Mann Mechanical Technology
Juliet Newson Contact Energy (IGA rep, IGA President)
Taparoto Nicholson Te Puia/Waiariki Maori  Geothermal Advisory Group
Trudy O’Halloran GNS Science
Paul Quinlivan Jacobs (IGA rep)

Membership Benefits

  • Identification with a professional body with a geothermal focus.
  • Automatic membership of the International Geothermal Association.
  • Dissemination of geothermal information by:
    • Scientific and technical exchange.
    • Sponsoring public seminars.
    • Timely flow of published information through the quarterly IGA Newsletter.
    • The World Geothermal Congress held every 5 years; other scientific and technical meetings.
    • Point of contact for a wide spectrum of inquiries from scientists, engineers, governmental bodies, news media and the public.
  • Education and other services:
    • Discount to a range of IGA and local seminars including the New Zealand Geothermal Workshop.
    • Quarterly receipt of the IGA News providing timely general information on geothermal matters
    • Discount to the professional journal Geothermics, which publishes articles dealing with the theory, exploration and monitoring techniques and all aspects of utilisation of geothermal resources.

Membership Fee

The current individual membership fee is NZ$100 per annum (incl GST).

Corporate and Institutional memberships are available at 4 levels indicated below, with annual subscriptions shown exclusive of GST. Three individuals can be nominated against this membership with voting rights in NZGA and IGA matters.

Membership Application

To become a member or update your member details please complete the NZGA membership application form.

NZGA Membership Form:
Download the NZGA application form here.